FSBI "VNIIOkeangeologia"
Leading Research Institute in the field of marine geology

Department of the Marine Seismic Exploration

Poselov Victor
Poselov Victor

Deputy Director General for Research (Marine seismic)

Doctor of Geological and Mineralogical Sciences (Marine seismic survey)

The main areas of activity of the department are: 

  1. Survey under the issue of defining the outer limits of the continental shelf of the Russian Federation;
  2. Study of the geological structure and evolution of the Earth's crust of the Arctic, maintenance of an information scientific database and knowledge on the geological and geophysical structure of the Earth's crust of the Arctic Ocean;
  3. Study of the geological structure of the South Kara shelf that is close to Yamal.

Studies on the issue of the definition the outer limits of the Russian Federation's Continental Shelf

Pursuant to the decision No. 717 of the Government of the Russian Federation of 16 June 1997, Order of the Government of the Russian Federation No. 144-R of 24 March 2000, the Russian Ministry of Natural Resources together with the Ministry of Defense of Russia prepared an Application on the outer edge of the continental shelf of the Russian Federation in the Arctic Ocean, Okhotsk and Bering Seas, in accordance with the articles of the Convention. Ministry of Foreign Affairs of Russia submitted an Application to the UN Secretary-General on December 18, 2001. The Russian Application was accepted by the UN Secretariat, recognized as corresponding to scientific and technical provisions of the UN Commission on the Limits of the Continental Shelf and published by the Secretary-General on the UN website. Thus, the public has been informed that Russia, within the framework of the Convention, has declared its right to include into the legal shelf of the Russian Federation a section of the seabed of the Arctic Ocean, including the Lomonosov and the Mendeleev elevations up to the North Pole, as well as seabed areas in the Okhotsk and Bering Seas.

A positive decision under the Application of the Russian Federation in the Bering Sea was made quite fast. And in regard of the Application under the Arctic Ocean and the Okhotsk Sea, work continued.

By 2013, a revised partial Application of the Russian Federation to the Commission on the Limits of the Continental Shelf in regard of the continental shelf in the Okhotsk Sea was prepared.

During the period from August 13 to August 24, 2013, the first meetings of the Commission and the Subcommission were held to consider the revised partial Application of the Russian Federation to the Commission on the Limits of the Continental Shelf regarding the continental shelf of the Okhotsk Sea. As a result of the Sub-Commission's consideration, a number of comments were made. These included a request for application of the original bathymetric data.

At the second meeting of the Sub-Commission, at its 33rd session, held from November 11 till November 15, 2013, the Russian Federation prepared modern and retrospective bathymetric data. And also responded to the remaining comments of the Sub-Commission. As a result, the Sub-Commission submitted its opinion, which states that the Sub-Commission agrees with the evidence provided by the Russian Federation in the Application. At the beginning of 2014, the Commission on the Limits of the Continental Shelf has legally assigned the international waters enclave of the Okhotsk Sea to the Russian Federation.

Work with the Commission on the Limits of the Continental Shelf on the partial revised Application of the Russian Federation concerning the outer limit of the continental shelf of the Russian Federation in the Arctic Ocean still continues.

A summary of the partial revised Application of the Russian Federation in the Arctic Ocean is available on the Web site of the Commission on the Limits of the Continental Shelf.

In 2015, Federal State Unitary Enterprise "Gramberg Oceanology Research Institute" made partial revised Application in three volumes for the establishment (in accordance with article 76 of the UN Convention on the Law of the Sea, 1982) of the outer limit of the continental shelf of the Russian Federation in the Arctic Ocean (AO) beyond the limits of 200 nautical miles from the baselines from which the breadth of the territorial sea is measured.

On August 3, 2015, the partial revised Application of the Russian Federation was presented to the Secretary-General of the United Nations.

During the 40th session of the Commission on the Limits of the Continental Shelf, on February 9, 2016, a partial revised Application of the Russian Federation regarding the outer limit of Russia's continental shelf in the Arctic Ocean was presented.

During the 41st, 42nd and 43rd sessions of the Commission on the Limits of the Continental Shelf, consideration of the partial revised Application of the Russian Federation concerning the outer limit of Russia's continental shelf in the Arctic Ocean was continued at the Sub-Commission.

At present, preparation of the necessary materials to protect the Application of the Russian Federation before the Commission on the Limits of the Continental Shelf, as well as preparation of accompaniment and presentation of Russia's Application to the Commission on the Limits of the Continental Shelf is still carried out.

Modern configuration of the outer limit of the continental shelf of the Russian Federation in the Arctic Ocean is shown in the picture.


Modern configuration of the outer limit of the continental slope of the Russian Federation in the Arctic Ocean, in accordance with the Application of the Russian Federation to the Commission on the Limits of the Continental Shelf

Study of the geological structure and evolution of the Earth's crust of the Arctic, maintenance of an information scientific database and knowledge on the geological and geophysical structure of the Earth's crust of the Arctic Ocean;

The materials collected with the CDP seismic reflection method, refraction technique, deep seismic sounding in the Arctic allow us to carry out a wide range of studies on the geological structure and evolution of the Arctic. The Department carries out works on studying building elements of the Arctic region and building of the sedimentary basins of the deep Arctic Ocean. All available materials are used to solve the assigned tasks.

The latest seismic studies with the CDP seismic reflection method in the Arctic have presented the structure of the sediment cover in the basins of Amundsen, Nansen, Makarov and Podvodnikov. Information was obtained on the main positive structures of the seabed of the Arctic Ocean, that is the Lomonosov Ridge, the Mendeleev elevation, the Chukchi Plateau.

Data processing, received by radiosonic buoys (sonis buoys) provides information about speeds in layers; this information was inaccessible through the CDP seismic reflection method.

Study of the geological structure of the South Kara shelf that is close to Yamal.

In 2012-2014 jointly with the OAO MAGE our laboratory carried out a comprehensive geophysical and geochemical research on the South Kara shelf that is close to Yamal.

For the first time, regional studies of the transit zone along the Yamal coast of the Kara Sea were implemented.

As a result of the joint interpretation of geophysical and geochemical data, two new local structures were found, with good prospect for storing hydrocarbons there. One of them was named VNIIOkeangeologia. The second was given the name after the nearest structure, Morskaya (transit zone). The position of the structures is shown in the picture.


The position of the new local structures identified as a result of works on the South Kara shelf that is close to Yamal

ФГБУ "ВНИИОкеангеология"
Ведущий НИИ в области морской геологии

Отдел морской сейсморазведки

Поселов  Виктор Антонович
Поселов Виктор Антонович

Зам. ген. директора - зав. отделом Морской сейсморазведки

Доктор геолого-минералогических наук

Основными направлениями деятельности отдела являются:

  1. Исследования по проблеме определения внешней границы континентального шельфа РФ (ВГКШ РФ);
  2. Изучение геологического строения и эволюции земной коры Арктики, ведение информационной научной базы данных и знаний о геолого-геофизическом строении земной коры Северного Ледовитого океана;
  3. Изучение геологического строения приямальской части Южно-Карского шельфа.
  4. Исследования по проблеме определения внешней границы континентального шельфа РФ
Во исполнение Постановления Правительства Российской Федерации от 16 июня 1997г. №717, распоряжения Правительства Российской Федерации от 24 марта 2000 г. №144-р, МПР России совместно с Минобороны России подготовили Представление по внешней границе континентального шельфа Российской Федерации в Северном Ледовитом океане, Охотском и Беринговом морях в соответствии со статьями Конвенции. МИД России направило заявку Генеральному Секретарю ООН 18 декабря 2001 г. Российское Представление было принято Секретариатом ООН, признано соответствующим научно-техническим положениям Комиссии ООН по границам континентального шельфа и опубликовано Генеральным секретарем на сайте ООН. Тем самым, мировая общественность была извещена о том, что Россия в рамках Конвенции заявила свое право на включение в юридический шельф Российской Федерации участка морского дна Северного Ледовитого океана, включающего поднятия Ломоносова и Менделеева вплоть до Северного полюса, а также участков морского дна в Охотском и Беринговом морях.
 ​
Положительное решение по Представлению Российской Федерации в Беринговом море было принято довольно скоро. А в части Представления по Северному Ледовитому океану и Охотскому морю работа была продолжена.

К 2013 году было составлено пересмотренное частичное Представление РФ в Комиссию по границам континентального шельфа в отношении континентального шельфа в Охотском море.

В период с 13 по 24 августа 2013 состоялось первые заседания Комиссии и Подкомиссии, посвященные рассмотрению пересмотренного частичного Представления Российской Федерации в Комиссию по границам континентального шельфа в отношении континентального шельфа вОхотском море. По результатам рассмотрения в Подкомиссии, был сделан ряд замечаний. В их числе был и запрос представления исходных батиметрических данных.

Ко второму заседанию Подкомиссии на 33-ей сессии, проходившему с 11 по 15 ноября 2013 года, Российская Федерация подготовила современные и ретроспективные батиметрические данные. А также ответила на остальные замечания Подкомиссии. В результате Подкомиссия представила свое заключение, в котором говорится, что Подкомиссия согласна с доказательствами, представленными Российской Федерацией в Представлении. В начале 2014 года анклав международных вод в Охотском море Комиссией по границам континентального шельфа был юридически закреплен за Российской Федерацией.​

Работа с Комиссией по границам континентального шельфа по частичному пересмотренному Представлению Российской Федерации в отношении внешней границы континентального шельфа Российской Федерации в Северном Ледовитом океане на настоящий момент продолжается.

С резюме частичного пересмотренного Представления Российской Федерации в Северном Ледовитом океане можно ознакомиться на сайте Комиссии по границам континентального шельфа –http://www.un.org/Depts/los/clcs_new/submissions_files/submission_rus_rev1.htm

 В 2015 году ФГУП «ВНИИОкеангеология им. И.С. Грамберга» подготовлено частичное пересмотренное Представление на установление (в соответствии со статьей 76 Конвенции ООН по морскому праву 1982 г. и научно-техническому руководству Комиссии по границам континентального шельфа) внешней границы континентального шельфа Российской Федерации в Северном Ледовитом океане (СЛО) за пределами 200 морских миль от исходных линий, от которых отмеряется ширина территориального моря, скомпонованного в 3 тома.

3 августа 2015 года Генеральному секретарю ООН было передано частичное пересмотренное Представление Российской Федерации.

В рамках 40 сессии Комиссии по границам континентального шельфа 9 февраля 2016 года состоялась презентация частичного пересмотренного Представления Российской Федерации в отношении внешней границы континентального шельфа России в Северном Ледовитом океане.

В рамках 41, 42 и 43 сессий Комиссии по границам континентального шельфа продолжилось рассмотрение частичного пересмотренного Представления Российской Федерации в отношении внешней границы континентального шельфа России в Северном Ледовитом океане на Подкомиссии.

В настоящее время продолжается работа по подготовке необходимых материалов к защите Заявки Российской Федерации в Комиссии по границам континентального шельфа, сопровождению и презентации Заявки России в Комиссии по границам континентального шельфа.

Современная конфигурация ВГКШ РФ в Северном Ледовитом океане приведена на рисунке .


Современная конфигурация внешней границы континентального склона Российской Федерации в Северном Ледовитом океане в соответствии с Представлением Российской Федерации в Комиссию по границам континентального шельфа

Изучение геологического строения и эволюции земной коры Арктики, ведение информационной научной базы данных и знаний о геолого-геофизическом строении земной коры Северного Ледовитого океана

Собранные материалы по работам МОВ-ОГТ, МПВ, ГСЗ в Арктике позволяют проводить широкий спектр исследований по изучению геологического строения и эволюции Арктики. Отдел проводит работы по изучению элементов строения арктического региона, строения осадочных бассейнов глубоководной части Северного Ледовитого океана. Для решения поставленных задач используются все доступные материалы.

По результатам последних сейсмических исследований МОВ-ОГТ в Арктике изучено строение осадочного чехла в котловинах Амундсена, Нансена, Макарова и Подводников. Получена информация об основных положительных структурах дна Северного Ледовитого океана – хребта Ломоносова, Поднятия Менделеева, Чукотского плато.

Обработка данных, полученных с применением радиогидроакустических буев (сонобуев), позволяет получить информацию о скоростях в слоях, недоступных для выполнения этой же задачи с использованием данных МОВ-ОГТ.

​Изучение геологического строения приямальской части Южно-Карского шельфа.

В 2012 – 2014 гг. совместно с ОАО МАГЭ были выполнены комплексные геофизические и геохимические исследования на приямальском части Южно-Карского шельфа.

Впервые были выполнены региональные исследования транзитной зоны вдоль ямальского берега Карского моря.

По результатам совместной интерпретации геофизических и геохимических данных были выявлены 2 новые локальные структуры, перспективные на углеводороды. Одной из них было присвоено название ВНИИОкеангеология. Второй название было дано по ближайшей структуре – Морская (транзитная зона). Положение структур отмечено на Рисунке.
gallery/новые локальные структуры


Положение новых локальных структур, выявленных по результатам работ на приямальском шельфе Карского моря